Matchocolate Black Chai Tea Chocolate Spread: Teas Unique

OMG! OMG! OMG! Look what I got, you guys!! Look. What. I. Got!! It’s a tea-holic-choco-holic dream come true! Matchocolate Black Chai Tea Chocolate Spread! Who thinks up stuff like this? An evil genius – that’s who!

open

smells yummy – warm chai spices!

Now I’ve never been a big fan of that other chocolate spread – that rhymes with ‘Mutella’. I’ve always found it cloyingly sweet. All I could taste was sugar. It’s not a thing I keep, or use in my house. But when I opened up my box from Teas Unique this week, I knew – THIS is the one! THIS is the answer to all my Mutella deprivation problems! I mean, chocolate, AND chai?? Come on! The jar says you can use it in pretty much the same way you can use the other spread – on toast, on ice cream, waffles, crepes, sliced fruit… you get the picture. So let me show you what I’ve been doing with it in the past couple of days!

  1. croissant

    toasted mini croissants

    Spread on toasted mini croissants: Who doesn’t love chocolate croissants? When you spread it on hot pastries, it goes all melty and gooey right away – nice meltiness! And let’s talk about the flavour. First of all, when you open the jar, it smells just like chai. It definitely smells like black tea, but more than anything you notice the cinammon, cloves, cardamom, and even pepper! It’s like a spice cake and it makes me think of Christmas. If you’re a chai lover, this is just the thing for you! Oh yeah… and there’s chocolate! It’s creamy, smooth, and chocolatey, with just a nice amount of sweetness.

  2. banana toast

    toasted mini croissants with bananas

    Toasted mini croissants with bananas: Chocolate and bananas – a match made in heaven, and with the juicy black tea flavour and the warm chai spices… this is bliss. (I’m doing this because I have no idea how to make crepes, even though my good friend has shown me how, but I have no flour or eggs or crepe pans in my house, and it’s wayyyy easier to just buy croissants and mush them flat – right?) It’s so good, I don’t even have words.

  3. Dipping sauce for fruits and cookies: I heated up 1 little tbsp in a tiny dish in the microwave for 10 seconds – just enough to melt it without cooking it. Then I dipped tiny mandarin slices, bananas, and a plain shortcake cookie.  The cookie was the least successful. It couldn’t scoop out enough chocolate since it was the least flexible, and the cookie itself was too bland. The bananas were yummy, but actually better with the croissants mentioned above. The orange was the best. Seriously, oranges and tea (the basis of Earl Grey, after all), oranges and chocolate, oranges and spices – all of those are beautiful combinations. When you put them all together, it’s like magic!
  4. Oatmeal: I always use plain, unflavoured, unsweetened oats and add my own stuff. Today I added a tbsp of Matchocolate spread into the cooked oatmeal, mixed it up, added 3 ounces of almond milk, and a handful of chopped walnuts and golden raisins. Wow! This was SO delicious! I could taste the tea throughout. The warm and luxurious chai spices mixed beautifully with the walnuts and raisins, and the chocolate gave a nice sweet finish to the oatmeal. Normally, I add honey, but now I don’t need it. It was like tea and spice cake all in one bowl. So good! I’m going to make up a big mess of this and keep it in the fridge in small containers so that I can have a ‘grab-n-go’ breakfast every day this week. Actually, I think this stuff would be perfect in the breakfast energy balls that I like to make – if I get around to that, I’ll add it here.

So, I’m just getting started with this spread, and I’ll be trying out new combos in the next few weeks. I’ll keep you posted on other discoveries. Another thing I like about this is that the ingredients are all organic and fair-trade, and there are no preservatives or artificial flavours. There’s also no glucose-fructose or artificial sweeteners. There is fair-trade cane sugar, and of all the sweetening options, I like this one best. It’s also gluten-free and non-GMO. ingredients

This Matchocolate spread might not be for everyone. If you’re a big fan of the other chocolate spread, this might be too different for you. It’s got the same texture and chocolate flavour, but the addition of tea and spices is definitely on a track going in another direction. If you love chai, or warm spicy things like gingerbread cookies, mince pies, Christmas puddings, spice loaf, pumpkin chai anything… THIS is for you!

***UPDATE*** Today I decided to try to make crepes for the first time in my life… seemed like a good thing to do with this spread. Well, it was a smashing success! I used an alternative recipe – with arrowroot flour and a little bit of hemp protein powder instead of wheat flour, but they still tasted amazing! There was a bit of a learning curve… the first 5 or 6 came out like clumps of rubber… but I finally got the hang of it. By the time I did 10 or 12, they were coming out perfect! As suspected, the Matchocolate spread was absolutely delicious! If you’re an expert crepe-maker, or even if you’re a newb like me, you can’t go wrong with this stuff. Highly recommended!

***UPDATE*** I added some of the Matchocolate Black Chai Tea Chocolate Spread to my breakfast protein balls for an extra kick of flavour! You can’t see it, but it’s in there – and it really makes the protein balls so much nicer! The chai spices go so well with the oatmeal and a touch of honey, and the chocolate replaces the chopped dark chocolate that I normally add. I’m making them like this from now on!

protein balls

Matchocolate Black Chai Tea Chocolate protein balls!

And the good news – if you want to check it out for yourself, from now until December 13, 2017, Teas Unique is offering my readers a HUGE 25% DISCOUNT on this spread! Follow this link HERE and your total will be adjusted at checkout (regular shipping charges apply). Why not take advantage of this opportunity to try something super unique – that you won’t find anywhere else! I know you want to…

Thanks Teas Unique for providing this yummy sample free of charge. This was the perfect thing to send me!

Leave a comment