Mt. Jiri Joongjak Organic Whole Leaf Green Tea: Teas Unique

joongjak green

Mt. Jiri Joongjak Organic Whole Leaf Green Tea by Teas Unique

So…. last night, thinking I’d surrender to the ever-nearer-creeping Christmas season, I went to dig out my Christmas tree – and it wasn’t there! I mean, I found the two bins full of Xmas decorations, but no tree! I don’t remember being burgled of a Christmas tree since last year… so… where is it? And now that I think about it, I’m sure I didn’t put it up last year. Too much bad stuff was going on. And the year before that… hmm… was the year of the flood… in which the tree-box got destroyed – and then I moved – twice. So, I remember having to throw out the box – but where did I put the tree? It’s too long to be in a plastic bin…    Where… could… it… be……  ?

While I ponder that, let’s have tea! This Mt. Jiri Joongjak Organic Whole Leaf Green Tea from Teas Unique sounds like just the thing to summon a Christmas tree to my living room.  The label tells me the tea was harvested in May, this year, and that it is also known as “Sparrow’s Beak” (Joongjak Jaksul Nokcha) green tea. Cool! Can’t wait to see it!

I open the packet to find little twisty green wires with a fine white down on the surface. I stick my nose in the bag and breathe in… black earth, dry, toasted (smoky?) wood, and chestnuts. Then it’s all nuts – my favourite!

green tea

Mt. Jiri Joongjak in Grandma’s teacup

I steep a tsp of tea in 80 degree water for 1 minute in a mini teapot. The package says 2 minutes, but I usually find that too long. The tea comes up a clear, light yellow, with a nice nutty aroma. Oh… I’ve steeped this perfectly! There is a green vegetal flavour, like asparagus, and then a hint of smoke – or is that toasted nuts? And then more juicy green vegetal flavours – like zucchini. And bread.  This is quite complex for a seemingly simple green tea! It’s got a really nice body to it – sort of thick and plump and juicy, but with sweet green veggies in the background. I’m smelling the chestnut aroma more than I’m tasting it. I’m really curious to see what the second cup brings.

cup 2

Mt. Jiri Joongjak cup 2

I give the second steep about 45 seconds and it’s a more intense yellow. This cup is also thick and full-bodied, but the flavour has changed. It’s got a little more smoke, a little more tang, and a little less nuttiness. The flavour is intensely “green tea”, and it’s perfect after dinner. It’s not so light that it disappears completely, but not so strong that it leaves a bitter taste. It’s nicely balanced.

I think this will be really great for getting through those long afternoons at my desk when 5:00 can’t come soon enough. This solid green tea just might keep me going!

So, no Christmas tree has materialized, and I’m still baffled. I guess I’m going to have to go down to the dungeons and rummage around in the dark and creepy storage locker under the building. Ugh…. I try not to go down there if I don’t have to, but I really don’t know where else to look. Wish me luck!

If you’re feeling festive and looking for a good green tea to go with your green (or pink, or purple, or silver) Christmas tree, I recommend checking this one out. And if you follow my link, Teas Unique is offering my readers a HUGE 25% discount on this tea until December 29, 2017! AAANNNDDDD…while you’re at it, check out the totally awesome and delicious Matchocolate Black Chai Tea Chocolate Spread – which ALSO has a 25% discount when you follow my link (applied at checkout)! You’re going to need both of them. I promise.

Super BIG THANKS to Teas Unique for providing this sample free of charge, along with Jeju Island Organic Whole Leaf Green Tea with Mandarin Orange!

 

Leave a comment