toshima teapot: adagio teas

What perfect timing! I’ve just started putting my life back together… just started an internship that I love… just started painting and drawing again… just started to feel like a normal human being again… just started to blog again… and guess what happened!

Tea! Tea happened! Tea is falling from the sky! And even better than that… teapots! Teapots falling from the sky! Well… not really the sky. It’s adagio teas! They sent me a beautiful green dragonfly teapot to go with my new life and I think it’s the best thing that’s happened in a long long time.

toshima teapot and box

Arrives nicely boxed and well protected!

I’ve had this dragonfly obsession for years. I fell in love with them in Japan when they would flit over the rice paddy outside my front door. They were like little flying jewels… all flashing with iridescent colours – red, blue, and green. One day, I found one sitting on my screen door – the biggest dragonfly I’ve ever seen. Its wingspan had to be at least 8 inches. It was almost the length of my arm! Since then, I’ve acquired a lot of dragonfly themed things, and when I saw this teapot, I knew I wanted it.

strainer

Strainer holds a lot! 

The Toshima teapot is handcrafted in China, in a Japanese tetsubin-style design. It is cast iron with a ceramic glaze, and comes with a metal strainer inside. True tetsubin are not glazed inside, and are intended for boiling water. This teapot is glazed, and is intended for steeping tea. There’s a difference. Purists may poo-pooh it all they like, but I still love it. The colour is the colour of new rice fields in the sunlight, and the dragonfly reminds me of my second home. It’s so pretty! And it’s so heavy! I like the weight of it in my hand, and I like the feel of the smooth handle. It’s nicely balanced.

spout

No strainer in spout – use the mesh basket.

So, to test my new teapot for actually making tea – I’m going to use one of the sample teas that adagio sent along with it. I’ll review the tea in the next post. I think it deserves its own space. Here, I’ll just focus on the teapot.

tea in teapot

Trial run with “leo” tea.

I fill the mesh strainer with 1 heaping tbsp of tea and fill the teapot with boiling water. I steep it for a little over a minute and pour it into a teacup. The teapot is balanced and easy to pour. The handle stays in place without swinging around, and I hold the lid on so it doesn’t fall off.  The amazing thing is that it doesn’t drip! That’s way cool!

The teapot holds a lot of tea – it’s bigger than I normally use. I’ve gotten 2 small teacups and 1 large mug out of it, and they stayed hot in between pourings. Since I usually steep my tea Gong Fu style, this is a bit different for me. Rather than taking smaller cups of tea where the flavour changes with every cup, I’d use this teapot for making one big pot of something that has a fairly consistent flavour. After steeping the tea for the desired amount of time, I took out the strainer basket so it wouldn’t oversteep. Then I replaced the lid just to keep it nice and hot. It’s a different kind of steeping, so I’ll have to think about the types of tea I want to put in there.

artpot

Overall, I’m extremely happy with my dragonfly toshima teapot, and I also loved the “leo” tea – but you’ll have to read about that in the other post.

SUPER BIG THANK YOU to adagio teas for providing me with the toshima teapot – and lots of yummy tea to go in it!

2 thoughts on “toshima teapot: adagio teas

Leave a Reply

