leo: adagio teas

I am Leo. Hear me roar!

leo tin top

hahaha… NOT! I am the world’s most atypical leo. There is absolutely nothing leo about my personality at all – except my hair. But that’s not personality, right? Although my hair definitely has a personality that you do not want to mess with. It eats hairbrushes… chews ’em up and spits ’em out. Or doesn’t spit them out… there’s probably a couple of them still buried in there somewhere.

leo tin

So, back to tea… this is “leo” tea from adagio teas“zodiac series”. First of all, it comes in a cute little slider tin with a gorgeous lioness goddess gracing the top. It’s stunning ! Second – it’s FULL of all kinds of things that I love to drink: oolong tea, rooibos, orange peels, chamomile, vanilla, and red safflower! Wow! It screams LEO to me! It’s so pretty to look at, and it smells like heaven. It’s like deeper, richer, smoother creamsicles – oranges and vanilla – sweet and exotic. Can’t wait to try it in my new teapot!

tea in teapot

“leo” in my new toshima teapot, ready to steep

I place a heaping tablespoon of tea in the strainer and add boiling water. I steep it for about 1 minute. The tea is a rosy gold colour and it smells like orange soda and chamomile. In the spirit of the zodiac, I pour it into my zodiac/fortune telling teacup. I don’t think there’ll be any leaves to read, though.

tea in zodiac

leo” in Grandma’s fortune-telling teacup and toshima teapot from adagio teas

The tea is very mild and calming. It has a nice vanilla sweetness, and the orange is not tart at all, but smooth, mellow, and almost soothing. It’s really nice, and also surprising. I expected it to be a more tart orange, but it’s kind of like a melted creamsicle where the ice-cream melds with the orange in a smooth perfumed mess of deliciousness. I also get the chamomile which adds to the soothing effect. Overall, this is a really nicely balanced, mellow tea where all the flavours work very well together. Nothing seems overpowering or out of place. I think this is a good tea for the evening – when you want to relax and chill with something harmonious and comforting. Luckily, my new teapot made enough for another cup!

BIG THANK YOU to adagio teas for providing me with this sample. And the teapot to steep it in!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

