rwanda rukeri: adagio teas

Well, Polly has been flooded with tea this week! Teas from here, there, and everywhere! Aren’t I lucky?! And now that I’ve quit my job, I hope to have lots more time to drink it… and to blog it. First, a colleague brought me a lovely big tin of Earl Grey, straight from Sri Lanka. The next day, another colleague brought me a gorgeous big box of assorted green teas from India. And the day after that, I received this wonderful box full of complimentary samples from adagio teas. Wow! I’ve got some serious blogging to do!

adagio sampler

Thank You to adagio teas for providing these samples!

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. I mean that literally. You see, I’ve not only quit my job of 17 years, but I’m starting the process of finding a new career, and hopefully, regaining control of my life. I guess this is what a mid-life crisis looks like. After months (years, really) of depression, and feeling trapped, I decided that I needed OUT. I needed to change everything… EVERYTHING about where my life was headed. Yesterday was my last day. Today is my first day of freedom. My next chapter starts now. Again, aren’t I lucky?!

I’m starting my new life with this ‘rwanda rukeri‘ black tea because… what better way to shake up your life than to try something completely unknown and unpredictable? I have no idea what to expect from Rwandan tea. I open the packet to find small twisty dark leaf pieces. It smells super fresh and invigorating with rich, ripe fruits like apples, currants, and raisins, and underneath, there is a little malt and a little hay.

rwanda mug

rwanda rukeri‘ steeped (haven’t unpacked Grandma’s teacups yet from my move in July)

I steep a heaping teaspoonful in a basket strainer for about 1 minute. The packet recommends 3-5, but I’m watching the colour develop, and I don’t want it too black. It’s a beautiful, clear rusty red colour, and it smells like caramel and butter cookies.

The first sip just makes me happy. It’s warm and rich and luxurious, with sweet notes of caramel, raisins, nuts, a little malt, and a touch of astringency. Because I only steeped it for a minute, it still has a lightness that is not too heavy or bitter. There is an aftertaste of apples. It’s really nice because it has the earthiness of a black tea, but is still light enough to be uplifting. I like that in a tea. I think it’s a nicely balanced; rooted in earth, but soaring into the sunlight.

I steeped a second cup for about 5 minutes, but it didn’t develop the same rich flavour. It had the astringency, but without the rich sweetness. It felt thin. I wouldn’t recommend taking further steepings from this one. However, don’t let that deter you from enjoying the first. It was a fresh, vibrant cup; a great way to start the rest of my life!

Big THANK YOU to adagio teas for providing this sample!

2 thoughts on “rwanda rukeri: adagio teas

  1. First of all: Kudos to you for taking a leap of faith! It’s not an easy decision to make (I’m going through something similar right now), but sometimes we have to do what we think is right for ourselves – even if it may not seem totally logical to other people. I wish you the best in all your future endeavors!

    Second, I’ve had my eye on Rwanda Rukeri for a while, too. You don’t often hear about African teas (other than herbals). This one sounds wonderful, with the malt and apple flavors. And as soon as you said the first cup was “warm and rich and luxurious,” I thought, “SOLD!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sara,
      I’m not sure if it’s a leap of faith so much as a desperate escape attempt. I think I might actually start a new blog about this process. Anyway, the tea though… yeah it’s a very nice, not too weird or shocking tea… just a cheery afternoon pick-me-up. Hope you get to try it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

