cardamom french toast: DAVIDs TEA

cardamom french toast

cardamom french toast by DAVIDs TEA

Yes, dear friends… Polly has been outta the loop for a while. I’ve been having a bit of a rough ride lately, and the tea got lost in the shuffle! It just wasn’t happening. First, there was a flood. Then I was homeless. Then I got sick. It was a “perfect storm” of nastiness that took over my life and knocked me flat. BUT! I! WILL! SURVIVE! Weebles wobble but they don’t fall down! So bad things come in threes, right? That should be the end of THAT, then! I’m alllllll ready for the GOOD stuff to start! Right now! Right here! Let’s start with this tea!

What’s not to love about cardamom? I’m drooling just thinking about it! This is a black tea with cinnamon, lemon peel, coriander seeds, cardamom, coconut, sugar, cane sugar, and natural and artificial flavouring. It looks very prettty, and smells warm and inviting… like Christmas baking. In fact, this tea is #21 in my unfinished “24 days of tea” advent calendar by DAVIDs TEA. Well… it’s never too late! (Uh-oh…. yes, apparently, it IS too late! I just went to find you a link for this tea, and it doesn’t exist anymore! That’s right… DAVIDs TEA isn’t offering it anymore! Too bad, because this is one of my favourites from the whole collection! It’s not too sweet… perfectly balanced… Dang! You’re outta luck, and I only have enough left for one more steep!)

IMG_5242

cardamom french toast in Grandma’s teacup

I steep a scoop in my DAVIDs Magic Steeper for about 3 minutes. The tea is a warm orange/brown, and I can smell the cinnamon and cardamom. Yummy! The first sip is very rich, with a nice dark, black tea flavour underneath, and on the top, the wonderful, warm spices of the cardamom and cinnamon. The whole thing is a gorgeous, rich blend of baking spices and dark tea, and it makes me think of coffee cake in a cute little tea-shop with lace tablecloths. It’s so warm and rich and luxurious! There’s a wee touch of sweetness, but just barely. I’m glad it’s not too sugary. I go for another steep… a little longer this time, since I’m afraid most of the flavour is already used up!

cup2

cardamom french toast cup 2 – lighter & more cardamom

The second cup steeps a bit lighter in colour. The tea itself is less prominent, and the cardamom is very strong! I LOVE IT! I absolutely love cardamom, and it is now the dominant flavour in the cup. It is really strongly reminding me of the “Arabic coffee” that my students often bring me. If you’ve never had that delicious treat, it is very very weak coffee, more reminiscent of tea, loaded with fresh cardamom, and drunk out of little tiny cups… usually served with fresh dates. I really love it! And THIS tea is tasting just like that! It’s a very nice  afternoon treat!

So, I’m glad to be back in the blogoshpere. I got lots of stories to tell… lots of  catching up to do… and lots and lots of tea to drink! Things are looking up!

 

Leave a Reply

