Silver Needle White Tea (Bai Hao Yin Zhen): TeaVivre

I just love it when I know exactly what kind of tea I want. It’s very satisfying to have the aroma and the taste in mind, and to brew it, and to find that it is exactly what you wanted! I love that it’s different every day. Today I’m having a terrible allergy attack, and the only thing I want is clarity! I want a clean, light tea in the hope that it will also make my head feel clean and light… as opposed to the heavy, pressure-filled, painful fog that the allergies bestow. And I want this headache to go away! Save me, Silver Needles!

Surprisingly, I’ve never tried Tea Vivre’s Silver Needle tea, so it’s about time I remedied that! I open the pouch to find short, furry, white tarantula legs with an incredible aroma of apricots, plums, tobacco, and caramel. These leaves have a lot more blackened bits than some other Silver Needle tea, so that’s a little weird… but the smell is fantastic!

I steep a heap of tea in a mini teapot for 40 seconds at around 80 degrees. The tea is a beautifully clear, light liquor, and the aroma is just ecstasy. It smells sweet, slightly fruity, slightly flowery, and just the right amount of clarity.

grandmacup silver

Silver Needle in Grandma’s teacup

The first sip is… oh my god… it’s pure bliss! It’s the sweetest, smoothest, silkiest, cleanest flavour… with notes of sweet bread, delicate lilies, and plummy, apricot-tinted stonefruits. It’s really reminding me of fresh-baked sweet dinner rolls… the super soft ones that we get for special occasions. I dunno where that’s coming from, but it’s just amazing! The flavour lasts long after I swallow and there is not even a hint of bitterness. It’s both delicate, and bold at the same time, and all clean.

cup2 silver tea viv

Silver Needle cup #2

I steep a second cup for 45 seconds. It’s a shade darker… almost yellow. This one has more intense notes of hay and tobacco, and it’s not as sweet as the first. It’s still delicious and clean, but I miss the sweet fruitiness. In the aftertaste, there is the most amazingly sweet, bread-y, malty flavour that lasts and lasts and lasts. Wow! It’s soooooo good! I can’t believe I’m not drinking this every day.

This tea HAS cleared my head… cleared my brain… cleared my sinuses… and I feel incredibly calm and relaxed. It’s a beautiful, beautiful tea that I obviously need to drink a lot more of!

I’m pretty sure that this tea was provided to me by Tea Vivre many many months ago, and with apologies for the delay, I’d like to say a BIG HUGE THANK YOU! This was wonderful, and exactly what I wanted!

I love it when that happens.

Leave a Reply

