kuromaicha: M&K’s Tea Co

kuromaicha

kuromaicha by M&K’s Tea Co

Happy New Year! I just got home today from my 2-week stay at my parents’ house, and I am ready to blog! I tried to do it there, but it was too hard. So, for my first post of 2016 I wanted to try something new! This Kuromaicha by M&K’s Tea Co has been calling my name for a couple of months, and I think it looks really cool and intriguing, and somewhat sinister… mwahahahahahahaaaaa. Kuromaicha means “black rice tea”, but it actually contains Japanese green tea, pan-roasted black rice, Hojicha, and Kyobancha. It smells like toasted, roasted… what… coffee? Yeah… it smells like coffee to me!

kuromaicha... everything I ever hoped it would be

kuromaicha… not everything I hoped it would be… yet

I steep 1 heaping tsp in a basket strainer for 1 minute and it has a nice warm aroma of hojicha and toasted wheat. The first sip is hmm… mild… maybe too mild. I think I will give it another 2 minutes.

Yup! This is the one!

Yup! This is the one!

The tea is a darker amber colour with quite a bit of sediment in the bottom. No problem! The flavour is much improved! Oh, wow… it’s a lovely toasted wheat flavour, reminding me of hojicha, but without the dryness. I think the green tea provides a little more succulence… like a more juicy, ripe, green robustness that hojicha doesn’t have. And yet, it is still very toasty like popped corn, or popped rice! This is a very nice balance. It has body, warmth, richness, and depth… toasted velvet! I’m also not getting any bitterness or astringency, so I like it very much! I hope this is a sign of good things to come in 2016!

SUPER BIG THANK YOU to M&K’s Tea Co for providing me with this tea!

(ooh… I was going to provide links directly to the tea, but M&K’s is closed for a bit, as they’ve reached capacity in orders! I’m glad to hear things are going well, and hope to see them back in the swing soon! Will post links later!)

2 thoughts on “kuromaicha: M&K’s Tea Co

    • I think the rice is what gives it the warm and toasty flavour. I didn’t really think of it as ‘rice-y’, but I really love that flavour of roasted grains… toasty and a little sweet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

