#15 honey i dew: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

Well, 6 more days until Christmas, and I have so much to do… I don’t even have time to write this post! So, here’s short and sweet…

This ‘honey i dew‘ is a white tea with apples, pineapple, melon, mango, rose petals, natural watermelon flavouring, and quite a bit of sugar on all those fruity bits. I open the tin and inhale, and it smells like candy. It smells like pink hard, sweet, sugar candy… possibly vaguely melon-flavoured, but mostly just juicy sweet candy. You can see all the different bits and pieces. The melon pieces look nice and juicy!

I steep the whole tin in my DAVIDs TEA steeper for 2 minutes (I’m a bit nervous about oversteeping their white tea, after the ‘buddha’s blend‘ goof-up). The tea is a clear yellow colour, and it smells like honeydew melon, so that’s a good sign!

IMG_5020g

honey i dew in Grandma’s teacup

The first sip is very melon-y, and sweet. It actually tastes like a blend of honeydew and cucumbers, with tiny pinch of sugar for a hint of sweetness. It’s not an overwhelmingly artificial, or sweet melon, but just a nice complement to the white tea. It’s just about 5 seconds away from being bitter. I’m glad I stopped it when I did. 2 minutes was perfect. The white tea itself is quite full-bodied and rich (think Bai Mu Dan) and you can taste it through the melon. The aftertaste starts out like honeydew, but quickly fades to that sugary taste that follows sugary drinks… not necessarily melon… just sugar… which is weird because the tea doesn’t feel that sugary as you drink it.

It’s a nice blend of sweet white tea and light, fresh honeydew, and I’d love to try it cold-brewed. I think it would be a fantastic summer iced-tea! I really like the fresh, luscious feeling of this tea. It’s providing a welcome moment of relaxation as I’m scrambling to get my stuff together for the next few days!

 

Leave a Reply

