#8 cherry blossom: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

So, this is review #8, on day #10. As a teacher, you get used to constantly running behind schedule. I’m not gonna let it bother me. If you already drank your ‘cherry blossom‘ 2 days ago, you can skip right over this post! I was really excited to try this one, but now that I’ve opened the tin, I’m overwhelmed with the smell of artificial cherry flavouring.

cherry-g

sakura blossoms by yamaguchi-ken via rona mcintyre

I was expecting something as subtle and delicate as the Japanese sakura which I picnicked under for 5 years, and which I love for their light, ephemeral beauty, but this already smells more in line with “Cherry Lifesavers” or “Jolly Rancher” candy… a totally different kind of flower. Sakura dewanai.

The ingredients are listed as: white tea, green tea, cherries, coconut chips, rosebuds, natural and artificial cherry flavouring. DAVIDs TEA website says it’s packed with big juicy cherries, but I don’t see any. I steep the whole little tin in cooled boiling water for about 2 minutes, and all I can smell is artificial cherry. I’m a little scared.

IMG_4936g

cherry blossom in Grandma’s teacup

The first sip is surprisingly mild in flavour. I expected it to be tart with artificial cherry tartness, but it’s actually quite mild in the mouth. I find myself searching for an identifiable flavour, but it’s weird… there isn’t any tartness, or juiciness, but just a mildly sweet tea flavour, with an aftertaste of cherry candy. All of the cherry is in the fumes… not in the taste itself.  It’s actually quite pleasant, and not nearly as bad as I feared. I can even taste the green tea in there!

So, here’s what just happened. I just spent an hour chatting with a friend, and in that time, the remaining tea went cold. I think I like it even better this way. It reminds me of the cherry popsicles of my childhood… not even sure if they still make them!  Final verdict: the tea is artificially flavoured, and yes, it’s noticeable. It’s not as scary as it smells at first. It’s milder than expected, and quite drinkable. It would be a good chilled, summer drink. I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it either… would drink it again, but probably wouldn’t buy it.

Leave a Reply

