#3 orange pekoe: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

Well, last night I experienced “mango madness“, and tonight’s commute home from work was a ride on the ‘crazy train’. I’ll just leave that to your imagination and say no more about it… but man, oh man! Do I need a cuppa tea!

All day long, I’ve been looking forward to the day 3 box in my “DAVIDS TEA: 24 days of tea” Advent calendar. I’m so ready for the next surprise! Orange Pekoe! Hahahahahahahaaaaaaa! Let me tell you why I find that so hilarious! Orange Pekoe, if you don’t know, is also known as “plain black tea”. It’s standard. It’s plain. It’s unflavoured. It has nothing to do with oranges. It’s what we North Americans think of when we think of ‘regular tea’. It’s what they put in Red Rose, Yellow Label, Tetley, and numerous everyday grocery store brands. And I’ve NEVER had a plain, unflavoured black tea from DAVIDs TEA! I didn’t even know they had such a thing as plain tea! I thought they were all fancy, fruity, nutty, glitter-bombs! So, this is a NEW experience for me… DAVIDs TEA ‘unplugged’!

The leaves are small brown twists that smell like super fresh iced tea! I got chills…it smells so fresh! I steep 1.5 tsp in my DAVIDs TEA steeper for about 4 minutes and the tea is a beautiful, clear orange/brown/red tea colour! Simple, but classic!

opcupg

orange pekoe in Grandma’s teacup

Yup, it’s orange pekoe all right! It tastes dark, rich, slightly fruity, and a whole lotta tannins! This is tea for people who like a strong, vibrant, fresh black tea with a little bite. The flavour itself is very nice… sooooo fresh and tea-y… but the astringency is a bit too much for me.

I pour a second cup, and this time I add sugar and milk. That’s something I almost never do, but somehow it seems fitting. All the tea of my childhood was tea just like this… Red Rose (or facsimile) with milk and sugar. Now the tea is absolutely delicious! It’s sweet and milky and it’s reminding me of the Japanese bottled “Royal Milk Tea” that I used to get from the vending machines… or the hot cans that you could use as handwarmers on a cold day! Wow! Little trip back to the past there! Sorry, North Americans, if you have no idea what I’m talking about… you don’t know what you’re missing!

milkyg

milk and sugar orange pekoe

This has been a good tea experience for several reasons. First, it reminded me of the hot Japanese “Milk Tea”; pure happiness in a can! Second, it reminded me of the tea of my childhood; sweet and milky!  Third, it reminded me that sometimes it’s OK to add milk and sugar. I tend to forget that large portions of the population normally do that anyway. If it makes the tea more enjoyable, then it needn’t be poo-poohed… but as I become more tea-snobby, I like to think I don’t need the milk and sugar. Today I was reminded that I can be dead wrong! Glad to get a new perspective on an old favourite!

3 thoughts on “#3 orange pekoe: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

Leave a Reply

