#1 sleigh ride: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

sleigh-ride-1

sleigh ride by DAVIDs TEA

Jingle Bells! Jingle Bells! Jingle all the way! Yahoooooo!! It’s finally here! I can finally break into my 24 days of tea Advent calendar by DAVIDs TEA!! I’m soooo excited! I’ve been waiting for this for weeks! And I finally feel like Christmas is coming! I put up my tree 2 days ago, hung all the decorations, and lit the lights!

santas-undies

Yes, that’s Santa’s and Mrs. Claus’ undies hanging on the wall… Don’t ask.

It’s totally feeling a lot like Christmas in here, so let’s kick things off with a sleigh ride! Box #1, that is…

Opening up the tin, I smell apples and cinnamon, and something sweet and milky… coconut? Wait a minute… is that… popcorn?!?! Wow! I check the ingredients, and this stuff is crazy! There’s apple, hibiscus blossoms, pineapple, papaya, beetroot, cinnamon, raisins, coconut, almonds, popped rice, and flavourings. It looks and sounds festive and decadent, and it smells like sweet jingly heaven! It’s funny… I actually had some of this last year, but I don’t remember the popped rice at all. Must go back and re-check my previous ‘Sleigh Ride‘ post. But not yet… after I finish this year’s ride.

IMG_4816

sleigh ride in Grandma’s ‘December’ teacup!

I steep the tea in my DAVIDs TEA magic steeper for a few minutes. The tea is a bright, cheery, cherry red (well, actually, beets, I think), and it smells like apples, walnuts, and cinnamon. But then, it smells like almonds and cherries and baklava. The first sip is semi-tart with hibiscus, but at the same time, there’s a mellow, smooth, cinnamon-y sweetness like baked cinnamon and brown sugar apples! I can also taste the papaya and pineapple… they give a hint of smooth sweet fruitiness. And there’s still something sweet and milky… the rice and coconut, perhaps. There’s just so much going on here… there’s no point in picking out individual flavours, really. The whole thing is just a fantastic, luxurious Christmas treat with layers of rich fruity decadence.

Jingle bells! Jingle bells! Jingle all the way! Oh what fun it is to ride in this magical DAVIDs TEA 24 days of advent sleigh! ┬áCan’t wait for day 2!

2 thoughts on “#1 sleigh ride: 24 days of tea: DAVIDs TEA

    • Thanks margaretvthornby! I’m looking forward to trying every one! I’m trying not to peak at them early,but the temptation is too great. I already know that I’ll be tasting MANGO MADNESS tonight after work!

      Like

Leave a Reply

