Organic Hangzhou Tian Mu Qing Ding Green Tea: Tea Vivre

 

teaartg

I started my Christmas shopping today. By buying tea. For myself. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! OK, all the tea companies are having fantastic sales for Black Friday and the holiday season, and I just can’t stop myself! Hello, my name is Rona and I have a (tea) drinking problem.

Today I want to put up my Christmas tree, but I have a lot of other little jobs to do first. Fuel is needed. I’m starting with green tea… the perfect combination of energy and concentration. I open this packet of ‘Organic Hangzhou Tian Mu Qing Ding Green Tea‘ from Tea Vivre to find fresh, crispy green leaves. They are small, but whole tips with 2 or three leaves and fine white pekoe. They smell like grass, nuts,iron, earth, leaves, and asparagus. It’s an earthy green.

I steep a glob (precise ancient measure) for 40 seconds in a little beaked gaiwan. The leaves turn bright lemon green, but the tea itself is a very pale lemon yellow. It smells like green vegetables. Lima beans.

 

Mu Qing Ding Green Tea

Organic Hangzhou Mu Qing Ding Green Tea in my long forgotten teacup from Grandma

The first sip is smooth and buttery, with a green vegetable flavour like spinach, or Lima beans. It’s light and clean and refreshing with no bitterness or astringency. It’s not exactly sweet, and not exactly nutty, although there are little hints of chestnuts. Overall, the main impression I get is of buttered green vegetables. It’s a familiar and comfortable feeling.

I steep a second cup for 75 seconds and it seems even more pale in colour. The flavour is still there, though. It’s a nice clean buttery green vegetal taste, but this time I’m picking up a little more nuttiness.

This is a very nice, simple cup of green tea. I don’t think it’s overly complex, or surprising, but the light, clean, mild flavour makes it a very good basic green tea to keep on hand. I’d happily drink this again.

So now, off to do some real Christmas preparations, and maybe even start buying presents that aren’t for me! No more tea, though! I have enough!

Leave a Reply

