7 Green Treasures: Tea Butler Canada via Tea Desire

It’s the first day of my 9 week “paycation”… that’s a vacation from being paid… AKA ‘layoff’. And I’m actually not too upset about it. I need a break! My last vacation was 7 years ago! Then I did a Masters degree for 3 years. Then I spent the last 4 months in 2 very difficult, high-stress courses. I’m in burnout mode. I soooooooooooooooooooooo need a break. Even an unpaid one is kind of welcome.

7 Green Treasures by Tea Butler via Tea Desire

7 Green Treasures by Tea Butler via Tea Desire

So, on this first day of unemployment, the sky is blue, and the sun is shining, and I feel happy and light, and in just the right frame of mind for some green tea! I won this “7 Green Treasures” from Tea Desire back at Christmas time, and am just getting to it now (one of my projects during my layoff time is to try to catch up on all the tea that I’ve missed in the past 4 months). It’s a nice little pyramid teabag that smells really sweet, so that’s good!

7 Green Treasures Pyramid Teabag

7 Green Treasures Pyramid Teabag

I steep for about 2 minutes, and the tea is a dark tan colour. It smells sweet and delicious. The first sip… a little grassy, a little vegetal, and … WHAT IS THAT?!?!? OMG!! After I swallow, I have the craziest sweet sensation like… cotton candy??? Pink cotton candy straight out of all my childhood memories! It’s like… cream soda? peaches? fruit? marshmallows? I DON’T KNOW, BUT IT’S DELICIOUS!!!! I’ve never had a tea that tastes like this! It’s incredible! I race to get the box for the ingredients list. Let’s see… Sencha, Gunpowder, Chun Mee, Pai Mu Tan, Pi Lo Chun, pineapple pieces (!), strawberry pieces (!!), sunflower blossoms, “delicious strawberry taste”. Ahhhhhhhh… strawberry…. that’s it! This tea tastes exactly like Grandma’s strawberry jam!!! It should be called “Grandma’s Strawberry Jam Tea”!!! Yet, I can still taste the tea, too. There is a fresh, grassy green flavour just before the strawberry kicks in. I don’t know if this is supposed to be the dreaded ‘artificial flavour’ that some tea companies use, but it DOES NOT taste artificial AT ALL! This is delicious! I need more!

7 Green Treasures: Cup 1

7 Green Treasures: Cup 1

I steep a second cup for 2 minutes. It’s a bit lighter in colour, and even MORE delicious! The flavour is lighter,  and the strawberry has mellowed a bit to allow the tea to shine through. Now I really taste the fresh green tea… it’s a light, fresh, crisp green, with fruity hints of strawberry and pineapple. It’s a beautiful blend!

7 Green Treasures cup 2

7 Green Treasures cup 2

Well, this was the PERFECT way to start my ‘paycation’. I’m going to sit down with my free Lost & Found
 book that I just won from Penguin Books, and I’m going to enjoy the first day of my long-awaited break!

BIG THANK YOU to Tea Desire  and Tea Butler Canada for providing the awesome tea! And to Penguin Books Canada for providing the awesome book! And to universities across Canada for providing no job security whatsoever!

 

Leave a Reply

