Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen: Yezi Tea

Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen by Yezi Tea

Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen by Yezi Tea

Marking. My whole life is marking papers. I am looking at probably 12 hours of marking ahead of me today. I should have started it last night. And I should have started it this morning… just to be sure I would get it done. But there were other things I needed to do. And I don’t mean to say that I was procrastinating. The laundry simply NEEDED to be done (6.5 hrs). The dishes NEEDED to be done (1 hr). The vacuuming and cleaning NEEDED to be done (2 hrs). They simply couldn’t wait any more. It was ‘situation critical’! I feel like I’ve been running non-stop (and sweating) for the past 18 hrs So, now that all the hard physical labour is done, I simply have to settle down and get this marking done! For that, I need a clean, uncluttered space and a calm, focused mind… free of distractions. What better way to start than with Silver Needle white tea?

So fuzzzzzzzzy!

So fuzzzzzzzzy!

This Silver Needle (Bai Hao Yin Zhen) from Yezi Tea is deliciously fuzzy (tarantula legs) and sweet and fresh smelling! It smells like sweet fruit… peaches and pears! It also smells like fresh earth, after the rain. Clean.

I steep a heap (ancient scientific unit of measurement) in a gaiwan with seriously cooled water, for 60 seconds. The tea is a pale, clear white. It smells a wee bit grassy. The first sip is just a whisper of sweet, mild pear flavour, with a touch of hay. It’s so simple and clean, but barely there. It’s smooth and velvety, though, with no trace of bitterness. The more I drink, the more I taste the sweetness in the back of my mouth.

Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen in Grandma's teacup

Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen in Grandma’s teacup

I steep the second cup a little longer; almost 2 minutes. I want to try to bring out more of the fruity notes. It steeps just a half a shade darker and smells even sweeter. OHHHHHH yes!!! There is the beautiful fruity taste of sweet honey and pears and plums! This is excellent! It’s delicate, pure, clean, sweet, and with an aftertaste of sunshine and white velvet!

Cup 2: a wee bit richer

Cup 2: a wee bit richer

I steep a third cup for about 2 minutes and it’s much like the second. It’s still sweet and smooth, with plum and pear notes. It hasn’t really lost any flavour at all. Quite delightful! I’d steep it again, but I don’t think I can hold any more tea right now!

There’s something so meditative about good quality white tea. It leaves me calm and focused. It feels so clean and pure. This is the perfect state of mind with which to tackle the stack of student papers in front of me. Bleccchhhhh! Well, at least the house is clean!

BIG THANK YOU to Yezi Tea for providing this amazing sample, along with several other FANTASTIC teas! (check out my all-time-favourite Jasmine Pearls, and Yi Fu Chun, Ti Guan Yin, and Da Yu Ling)! All excellent!

2 thoughts on “Silver Needle Bai Hao Yin Zhen: Yezi Tea

  1. Mmmmmm. Yezi really has some great-quality teas, and I think I’d like this one as well. Have you tried their Bai Mu Dan? Their Master Grade version also has the downy white undersides on the dry leaves, and the infusion is smooth and heavenly in a meditative sort of way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

