Happy 1st Anniversary teawithpolly!

Clipart Illustration of a Bunch Of Floating Party Balloons With

WOW! It’s been one full year on my tea journey! One full year of delectable, delicious teas from all over the world! One full year of meeting other passionate tea lovers! One full year of trying new things, making connections, building my blog, and sipping my tea! It’s been awesome!

I want to say a BIG THANK YOU to all my readers, followers, and tea-friends for making my blog more successful than I ever could have dreamed! I’ve enjoyed your comments and feedback, and I’ve learned so many great things about tea from all of you!

I also want to say a SUPER BIG THANK YOU to all of the tea vendors who provided me with samples this year! When I started teawithpolly, I had no idea that this was a thing that would happen. Your generosity just blows my mind! You have kept me supplied with so many great teas to taste and talk about and share with friends and I am deeply grateful. (My Tea Sources)

To commemorate my one year anniversary, I was going to make a TOP TEN TEAS list for 2014, but when I started to compile the faves… there were 24 on the list and I couldn’t narrow it down! So many EXCELLENT teas!!

New plan… To commemorate my one year anniversary, I’m going back to the beginning… to the first tea that actually blew my mind and got me hooked on loose-leaf tea. I discovered it at the Toronto Tea Festival in 2013, and after carefully rationing it out for a year, blogged it on January 6th, 2014. That post got one hit. Today I’m re-reviewing it because it was my first love, I still love it, always return to it, and I really want people to know how delicious it is!

Celebrating my 1st anniversary with Coconut Oolong by Tsaa Tea Shop

Coconut Oolong by Tsaa Tea Shop

Coconut Oolong by Tsaa Tea Shop

The twisty leaves smell like warm, buttery, toasted coconut. It’s not quite the same as fresh, juicy coconut… it’s more mellow, sweeter, smoother. I steep 1 1/2 tsps in my magic steeper for 45 seconds. The toasty coconut aroma fills the kitchen and makes me think of white sand beaches and palm trees and turquoise blue water as far as the eye can see…. Paradise!

Coconut Oolong in Magic Steeper

Coconut Oolong in Magic Steeper

Sipping from the most elegant of Grandma’s teacups, the flavour is warm, buttery smooth coconut, with a little vegetal green undercurrent. That’s the oolong. The coconut flavour lasts in the mouth.

Coconut Oolong in Grandma's teacup

Magical, time-space travelling Coconut Oolong in Grandma’s teacup

The first time I tasted this, it knocked my socks off! I never knew that a tea could be so sweet and smooth. It instantly transported me to the Japanese beaches of Taketomi-jima… sparkling white sand, hot sun, the sound of gently rolling waves in a teal blue sea, and the notes of  a single, lonely sanshin drifting across the breeze. That tea could transport me through time and space in an instant was a revelation! I was hooked! I had to know where OTHER teas would take me! So begins the journey…

I’d love to know what tea set you on YOUR tea journey! Leave a note in the comments and let me know what first inspired you!

Looking forward to a new year full of more great teas and more great people!

Happy Tea-Time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy 1st Anniversary teawithpolly!

  1. Years ago my father returned from San Francisco with a box of a cinn spiced tea. l loved the box, scent and taste. That was the beginning of my love of tea.

    Like

  2. Ohhhhhh that Coconut Oolong sounds wonderful! Normally I’d say I’ll check out the tea company, but I have soooo many samples now that I should probably hold off on that for a while. *lol*

    The tea that kicked off my tea journey was Teavana’s ToLife. I don’t know if you’ve had that one…? It’s a blend of their Silver Need White, Jasmine Dragon Pearl, and Rooibos Tropica (red rooibus with tropical fruits and flower petals) teas. I tried it at a friend’s house, and I’d never had anything like it before. And then, as they say, the rest is history. 😀 I also bought my own canister of ToLife not long after that introduction!

    Like

    • Haha! I know what you mean about having too many samples to get through. I feel so guilty that I have so many lined up and can only get to blogging one at a time! I’ve never had “To Life” but it sounds really lovely! It sounds kind of like “Meditative Mind” by the tea spot, which has White peony, jasmine pearls, and rosebuds. It was very meditative!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

