Blueberry-Cream: Tea Butler Canada via Tea Desire

Winter arrives!

Winter arrives!

Snowed in! The winter that never showed up arrived today with a vengeance! All my plans down the drain as I have no desire to go out in that blizzard! It’s getting worse by the minute! YUK! Soooooooo, what am I gonna do? Stay home and make tea, of course!

Tea Desire hosted a “12 Days of Christmas” contest and I was lucky enough to win the prize for the 3rd Day of Christmas! If you’re an older Canadian like myself, you are probably familiar with the “12 Days of Christmas by Bob and Doug MacKenzie” where “On the 3rd day of Christmas, my true love gave to me… 3 French toasts”! I said I wanted to win the Blueberry-Cream tea to wash down my 3 French toasts! Sounded perfect! Well, the prize arrived yesterday, and it’s a lovely gift box of 2 x 6 different pyramid teabags! (Blueberry-Cream, Five O’Clock Tea, Peppermint leaves, Cream of Earl Grey, Chai Tea, 7 Green Treasures) Wonderful!

Tea gift box from Tea Desire

Tea gift box from Tea Desire

6 Assorted teas!

6 Assorted teas!

When I open the packet, it smells like sweet berries! It’s got the smooth, sweet vanilla aroma, very much like “Very Berry” by teageeks. The ingredients are apples, hibiscus, rosehips, beetroot, blueberries, blackberries, cornflowers, barberries (whatever they are) and natural flavour. The teabags are nice big pyramids with lots of room for expansion. The box instructs me to steep with boiling water for 8 – 12 minutes! Seems long, but a quick sip at 5 minutes was still too watery, so it seems you really do need the longer steeping time.

Big pyramid teabag

Big pyramid teabag

The tea steeps to a brilliant red and the first sip is tart and berry-like. I don’t notice ‘blueberries’ per se, but berry flavours, yes. The hibiscus is quite strong. It’s in the aftertaste that I notice both the blueberry and the cream. There is a sweet, creamy, vanilla-ish taste that lingers. It reminds me of cream-soda!

Bright red tea!

Bright red tea!

My French toast is savoury, rather than sweet, with dark rye bread, feta, cilantro, and tomato. It’s a nice lunch… not breakfast. And the tea is actually a nice way to wash down the French toast which was heavy and rich (mayo and feta!). The tartness of the tea cuts the fat quite a lot, so that’s great! This was a great tea to accompany my “3 French toasts”, and the next time, I will try it with a more traditional sweet French toast with fresh blueberries and fruit. It’s probably a more natural combination. No complaints though… this was a nice ‘dessert tea’ for my savoury French toast lunch! I’m sure Bob and Doug would be proud! Now I’m off to find my “5 golden touques” to deal with that blizzard!

3 French toasts lunch with Blueberry Cream tea

3 French toasts lunch with Blueberry Cream tea

Big THANK YOU to Tea Desire for sending this lovely sample pack! Can’t wait to try the others!

 

 

Leave a Reply

