Eggnog Rooibos: DAVIDs TEA

Dreaming of a Green Christmas!

Dreaming of a Green Christmas!

Having a lovely, warm and green Christmas holiday here in London, Ontario. NO SNOW! I LOVE THIS!! I could handle snowless winters for the rest of my life and never miss it! It is a bit cold though, and I’m wrapped up in scarves and furry moccasins. This calls for tea! And what better way to celebrate the season than EGGNOG TEA?! Some lovely Santa brought me 3 holiday teas from DAVIDs TEA, along with the handy dandy ‘teal steeper‘. Here’s the tea:

IMG_3062

It’s green rooibos, white chocolate chips, meringue powder, natural and artificial flavouring, (allergy alert… milk, eggs, soy) and it smells like spiced eggnog! It really does! I steep it as directed: 1 1/4 tsp in 240 ml boiling water, for about 4 minutes. It takes a while for the white chocolate chips to melt.

I’m using my new ‘teal steeper‘ from DAVIDs TEA which is really really super cool too! You put the tea in the bucket area, pour in the water, let it steep, and when it’s ready, you simply place the steeper on top of a mug and the tea drains out the bottom. It holds just over 500 mls, so it’s quite spacious. It’s easy to clean too because there’s no little spout, little holes, little mesh basket, little push buttons… just a nice big bucket that you can scoop out with your hand. Couldn’t be easier!

Magic Steeper by DAVIDs TEA

Magic Steeper by DAVIDs TEA

So, the tea is a cloudy eggnoggy colour and it smells like sweet, spiced eggnog! I’m detecting nutmeg, cinnamon, and traces of ginger. The first sip is sweet and mild. I can taste the white chocolate and nutmeg flavours in the mouth, but the ‘eggnog’ doesn’t really come through until after I swallow. Then it’s a pleasant, but faint milky, custard-y, eggnog flavour, which is surprising in a tea… it IS tea after all!

This tea gives you a nice suggestion of eggnog without the heavy creaminess of eggnog. It’s a light, sweet, warm tea, and it goes very well with woolly moccasins and warm scarves! Happy Holidays, Everyone!

This Eggnog Rooibos is available for a limited time from DAVIDs TEA (and is 40% off at the time of writing).

***UPDATE***

The second time I made this tea, I added 1/2 tsp of coffee whitener. It’s AMAZING! It smells exactly like spiced eggnog and it has a bit more smooth, creamy texture. Delicious!

4 thoughts on “Eggnog Rooibos: DAVIDs TEA

  1. Nice review! I’m not sure how much I’d like chocolate in my teas, and I’m not a fan of eggnog, but you make this one sound quite tasty!

    Funny, I was just at David’s Tea on Sunday to buy some new teas, and am having my first cup of their Glitter & Gold right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

