Da Yu Ling Oolong: Yezi Tea

Da Yu Ling by Yezi Tea

Da Yu Ling by Yezi Tea

It’s been a lovely, busy day with shopping and “flaneuring” with a good friend. First stop was “The Old Book and Paper Show” where we browsed and bought some interesting goodies. I purchased this little postcard to stick on my tea-cupboard door! Yes! I DO require tea in quantities! (but I don’t know when I’ll ever need a gallon of tea!)

Do you require TEA in quantities?

Do you require TEA in quantities?

So, now I’m home and it’s tea-time, and I’ve been dying to dive into this package from Yezi Tea! It arrived at the post office almost a week ago (very fast shipping!) but I couldn’t pick it up until Saturday because my evening commute is soooooooooooooooooooooo painfully long that I can’t get to the post office before closing time. Yezi Tea kindly sent me a fabulous package containing a handy little tote-bag, 5 x 1 oz. packs of tea, and a booklet of ‘Tea Selections’ explaining the lot! Wow! Wonderful!

Yezi Tea package

Yezi Tea package

Yezi Tea features teas from Fujian and Taiwan. Tonight I’m starting with this Da Yu Ling Oolong which claims to be light and smooth, and that’s exactly what I’m looking for after a busy day. This high altitude tea is considered to be the highest grade of Taiwanese oolongs. Great! Can’t wait!

The tightly rolled, curled up leaves, smell sweet and fresh and lightly floral. This doesn’t smell as overpoweringly strong as some other high altitude oolongs… it’s very mellow.

I give the leaves a quick rinse and steep in a gaiwan for 35 seconds. It’s a light, clear yellow, and it smells fantastic! It’s floral and butter and honey. Beautiful.

Da Yu Ling in Grandma's teacup

Da Yu Ling in Grandma’s teacup

The first sip is sweet, light, and smooth. It’s like honey and butter on the surface, but underneath, there is a very delicate floral taste that perfumes the mouth ever so lightly! This is very very nice! You get the delight of flowers, but without feeling like you’ve swallowed a flower shop. It’s really fine… exquisite.

Once again, I'm astounded at how much leaf is in those little crunched up balls!

Once again, I’m astounded at how much leaf is in those little crunched up balls!

I need another cup right away! I steep the second cup for 45 seconds. It’s a bit darker  yellow, and smells even more flowery. The taste however, is smooooooth and mellow! Again, the honey, butter, cream, and floral notes are perfectly balanced and delicate. I really really really love this tea! It’s perfect for relaxing after a long day. It’s so light and refreshing, and it won’t weigh you down! This is truly a treasure! Yes, I definitely need this tea in quantities… maybe even gallons!

BIG THANK YOU to Yezi Tea for providing this sample for review. It’s amazing!  Highest grade indeed! I can’t wait to try the others!

 

 

Leave a Reply

