Darjeeling First Flush 2014 Rohini Emerald Green Tea: What-Cha

Darjeeling First Flush 2014 Rohini Emerald Green Tea

Darjeeling First Flush 2014 Rohini Emerald Green Tea by What-Cha

What an enchanting name! “Emerald Green Tea”… wow! It’s a Darjeeling of course, but I instantly think of the “Emerald City” and the treasures given there… heart, brain, courage, and home. What a lovely recipe for life! It sounds so simple… if it weren’t for the Flying Monkeys! Let’s see what the Wizard of Tea has in store for me today…

I open the packet and find these big curly, crispy, crunchy green leaves that look like they’ve been tossed around on the wind. The aroma is of pungent green vegetables and grass…  I steep a few big leaves in a gaiwan. The package recommends 1-2 tsps per cup for 2-3 minutes. I’m always afraid of steep times in minutes, since I often find the tea bitter after about 45 seconds. I’m going with 60 seconds on the first steep.

Darjeeling First Flush 2014 Rohini Emerald Green Tea in Grandma's teacup

Darjeeling First Flush 2014 Rohini Emerald Green Tea in Grandma’s teacup

The liquor is a pretty light gold colour. It smells green. The first sip is smoooooooooth, like butter. It’s a very fresh, green, vegetal flavour… reminding me of zucchini. But it’s so smooth, it really goes down easy. I need another cup!

I leave the second for 2 minutes. The colour is a lighter green/gold, and the vegetal taste (green vegetables… yes) is fuller and deeper.  This is a very smooth green tea with a slightly floral finish and very little astringency. After a few minutes, I’m finding a taste of apricots. This would be a nice mid-afternoon pick-me-up… not too light, but not too heavy. I’m feeling more courageous already! Not too sure about the brain though…

Big green THANK YOU to What-Cha for providing this sample! It’s a lovely green trip to the Emerald City!

 

Leave a Reply

