Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong Tea: What-Cha

Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong Tea by What-Cha

Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong Tea by What-Cha

I’ve chosen this tea tonight simply because I love the name! Goomtee! Wonderful! For some reason, it reminds me of that old “Kookaburra” song we learned in grade 1… back when schools had music classes, and actually made kids sing from an old songbook. Yes, I know that Kookaburras have nothing to do with Darjeeling Second Flush teas, but somehow, I guess Goomtee sounds like “gum tree”. Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree-ee…  Kookaburra sits in the old Goomtee-ee…. ha ha ha. I know, I know… silly… but that’s how I choose the teas sometimes. Or does the tea choose me? hmmmmmm???

Well, anyway, the Kookaburra laughed, and so am I because this Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong from What-Cha is just that awesome! I open the package and it smells strong and fresh… like citrus peel and green and wood and spice. Lush! The leaves are funny little twists and they are really hard… tap tap tapping on the plate as I pour them out. There are some soft and fuzzy bits too!

I used a big pile of tea in my beaked gaiwan. The first cup (40 seconds) is sweet and unbelievably smooth, like caramel and vanilla with a twist of orange blossom… SUPER smooth! It’s gone in a flash. Cup two, I slightly over-brewed (3 minutes) and the caramel is replaced by an intense, complex, fresh and orange-y flavour which is sitting on the edge of astringency… but not quite over the other side. It’s got a much deeper, and more woody taste underneath, and the finish is a shadowy hint of orange. This is a very full-bodied cup which I would use as a morning wake-me-upper! The third cup (50 seconds) is somewhere in the middle. It’s got a sweet fresh orange blossom taste, with an overlay of smooth caramel, and an undertone of wood. But then, there’s that creamy smoothness again… it’s very layered. But that makes it interesting! I’m enjoying the complexity! Laugh Kookaburra! Laugh Kookaburra! Save some tea for me! Ha ha ha ha!

Big THANK YOU  to What-Cha for providing  this really interesting and delicious sample! I’m learning that I really like the Darjeeling family so far!

Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong Tea in Grandma's teacup

Darjeeling Second Flush 2014 Goomtee Oolong Tea in Grandma’s teacup

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

