Kenya Hand Rolled Purple Varietal Oolong Tea: What-Cha

Kenya Hand Rolled Purple Varietal Oolong by What-Cha

Kenya Hand Rolled Purple Varietal Oolong by What-Cha

Whew! I thought when I finished my thesis I would have so much free time that I wouldn’t know what to do with myself! I was so wrong! I haven’t had a free night yet! Getting home after 7:00 doesn’t help. After the grocery shopping and the cooking and the cleaning up and the marking students’ work… there STILL isn’t any free time! When do people actually have time to do stuff like watching TV or kayaking? huh? When?!

I’ve got a night of marking ahead of me… and the cleaning isn’t gonna get done at all… and I really want to just sit here and stare out the window and drink my tea. Well… maybe for 5 minutes…

So, I open this package because the “Purple Varietal” sounds awfully close to “Purple Velvet” which sounds so luxurious and decadent, I just have to see what’s inside! Opening the package, this long, twisty tea smells like purple fruits… plums and raisins… really sweet and velvet-y… like plums and honey. Yummy!

I steep a little pile (I know that’s not very precise, but anyone looking for exact weightings is in the wrong blog) in a gaiwan, using boiling water, for 40 seconds. And NOW I see where the purple comes in! When I pour it out into Grandma’s teacup, there is a weird purple/blue cast to the tea! I can’t explain it, and my camera can’t record it. You’ll just have to trust me… the tea is a dark amber with purple edges!! It’s weirdly awesome! Can’t wait to taste it!

Purple Oolong in Grandma's teacup

Purple Oolong in Grandma’s teacup

Wow! This is awesome! The tea is sweet, sweet, sweet! It’s hard to believe there’s no sugar added! It really does taste like smooth velvet sweet plums and apricots and raisins. It’s sweet stone fruits with absolutely no tartness or bitterness. It’s incredibly smooth and mellow. I think it might actually be made from purple velvet! Seriously!

As I near the bottom of the cup, the purple hue is more pronounced. It’s a weird colour that must be seen to be understood. I must have another cup immediately! I steep the second for 45 seconds. It has the same purple edges, and smells even sweeter! Mmmm… it’s beautifully smooth and luxurious and rich and plum-y! It’s leaving an aftertaste that vaguely reminds me of Earl Grey… fresh, slightly floral, but softer and smoother. It’s delicious and unique. I don’t know another tea that tastes like this one! I can’t wait to drink it ALL! When I get some more free time!

Special thanks to new tea company What-Cha for providing the sample. I’m not a paid salesperson, but I have to say, all of the What-Cha samples so far have been FAN-TAS-TIC! If you haven’t checked them out, you are REALLY missing out!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

