Organic Matcha (Culinary Grade): Kiss Me Organics

Matcha! How I love you! Matcha ice-cream, how I love you even more! Matcha lattes, matcha cookies, matcha mochi, matcha bread, matcha cakes, matcha yogurt, matcha KitKat, matcha… everything. Everything’s coming up matcha!

I love matcha! It smells like shortbread cookies, and looks like green, living, growing, thriving HEALTH. That’s it! Just health! Deep green pools in deep green forests, where deep green frogs play deep green guitars. Love it!

So, when Kiss Me Organics offered to send me some matcha, I was thrilled!

 

First, let me say that it came FAST!! Ordered on Saturday, it came Monday morning! WOW! It also arrives with an online e-book full of matcha recipes for drinks, smoothies, breakfast, sweets, breads, dips, pizza, chicken, seafood, meats, soups, and shots! Whew! You will never wonder what to do with your matcha! I’m not much of a cook, so I’ll probably never do most of those things, but they do look amazing!

I have to say that this is not a ceremonial grade matcha, and it doesn’t pretend to be, so I will not be reviewing it for that purpose. It is clearly labelled as culinary grade, for lattes, baking, smoothies, etc., so that is what I will be using it for!

Let’s see what I’ve got.

The powder is very fine, and a bright olive green. It smells fresh and shortbread-y, but there’s also a tangy kick. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

Organic Matcha Green Tea Powder by Kiss Me Organics

Organic Matcha Green Tea Powder by Kiss Me Organics

The first thing I’m making is a drink on p.11  called  “Sparkling Matcha” (because I have those ingredients on hand, and because it’s really hot and humid in here today, and this looks cool and refreshing).

Matcha + water. Mix. Add ice and club soda. Squeeze lime on top.

I love “cooking” with no more ingredients than water and lime. I can handle this!

Matcha, ice, club soda, lime

Matcha, ice, club soda, lime

OK! It looks nothing like the picture in the e-book! Theirs is light and sparkly. Mine is a dark, opaque, olive-green that looks like one of those “health” drinks that’s full of asparagus and spinach. I don’t have a problem with it, but squirmy people might. I have to admit, I’m a bit sceptical about the taste.

"Sparkling Matcha" by Kiss Me Organics

“Sparkling Matcha” by Kiss Me Organics

Mmm… it’s actually VERY GOOD!! It’s not bitter at all, and the matcha itself is sweet, fresh, and with that wonderful shortbread, green-tea ice-cream taste. And the lime gives it just a bit of brightness and sparkle, but isn’t overpowering. This is a really nice, cooling drink! Very summery! I was worried about bitterness, but there’s none here. I think the next thing I will do is mix my matcha with plain greek yogurt and honey. I think it will be smooth and creamy and yummy!! Kiss Me Organics has lots of information on the health benefits of matcha, if you’re interested, but I’m quite happy just enjoying the flavour in whatever way I can. I can also attest to the calming/focusing power of matcha. I don’t know the chemistry, but it is great for studying. It brings this amazing calm and sense of clarity and focus. It’s like it slows down time so you can just see things clearly and go about your work with purpose. Matcha always does that to me. So… if you’re feeling a bit froggy, and a bit jumpy, and you need to slow things down for a bit, check out this delicious matcha powder (available exclusively on Amazon). And if anybody wants to bake p.30 (nutty green brownies) for me, well… you know where to find me…  😉

BIG HUGE GREEN THANK YOU to Maria and Kiss Me Organics for the sample!

*UPDATE*

July 1, 2014.

Matcha Smoothie for breakfast. My own concoction: 1 cup Greek yogurt, 1 tsp matcha powder, 1 tsp light honey, 1/2 cup low-fat milk. Blend with a hand mixer. Light, foamy, sweet, energizing, delicious!

July 26, 2014.

Here’s another one: 1 cup “Coconut Dream” drink, 1 cup 0% fat Greek yogurt, 1 banana, 1tsp matcha powder, 1/2 tsp light honey. Sweet banana/coconut/matcha is smooth and yummy!

Matcha Smoothie

Matcha Breakfast Smoothie

Leave a Reply

