Jasmine and Lily Arch: Canton Tea Co

Canton Tea Co Flowering Tea

Flowering Tea by Canton Tea Co

The joys of apartment living!

Since 2009, I’ve lived in 3 different apartment buildings. In each one, they have started MAJOR construction within months of my moving in. In building #1, they started re-building the underground parking garage.  The jackhammering blasted me out of bed every morning between 7:30 and 8:00 and continued all day, every day, for 5 months. They would no sooner get it finished when they had to re-do it all over again because it failed to meet code. In building #2, they started re-building the underground parking garage.  The jackhammering blasted me out of bed every morning between 7:30 and 8:00 and continued all day, every day, for 6 months. They would no sooner get it finished when they had to re-do it all over again because it failed to meet code. Sound familiar? I moved into building #3 in November. It’s been 6 months. Yesterday I got a notice stating that they are going to start re-building all of the balconies on the south side of the building (32 floors). The jackhammering will blast me out of bed every morning between 7:30 and 8:00 and continue all day, every day, for 3 months (estimate). Do you know what jackhammering sounds like inside a drum? For 10 hours a day? For 3 months? Am I cursed? Because it seems to be following me… I’m sure there was an ancient Egyptian ‘God of Construction’ that I pissed off in another life!

Today’s “Minor Inconvenience” (it’s always “minor” isn’t it!) is that the water is turned off all day, so don’t even think about showering, using the toilet, brushing your teeth, washing the dishes, or making tea! NO TEA!!! This is an emergency!!!

Today I received this awesome tin of Flowering Tea from Canton Tea Co. There are 8 beautiful balls of tea in various shapes and colours, and they smell great! Like tea and flowers! I couldn’t wait for the water to come on, so I had to go the supermarket to buy some bottles!

Flowering Tea balls

Flowering Tea by Canton Tea Co

I choose a ball that seems to have an orange colour inside. It opens slowly, and like magic, reveals a nest of green tea with a large central orange flower and a chain of pretty white delicate flowers! It’s so PRETTY!!! How did they do that?! And it smells wonderful: very sweet like honey or sweet corn! WOW!!! The taste is FANTASTIC!! It’s so deliciously sweet and mellow. I check the website to discover that this is hand-tied Mao Feng green tea with a Chinese lily and Jasmine blossoms. I expected it to taste flowery, but it doesn’t really. It’s more like butter and honey on  a tea biscuit! The aftertaste is clean and mildly sweet and buttery. Yummy! I could drink this all day. It makes me ridiculously happy!

Flowering Tea viewed from above

The view from the top

So, when the construction starts in another 10 days, and I’m ready to jump off the roaring, rattling, shaking, vibrating, balcony… this tea just might bring a little bit of sunshine and happiness. Or I might use it as a peace offering to that angry Egyptian ‘Construction God’!

This “Jasmine and Lily Arch” Flowering Tea was kindly provided by Canton Tea Co (and I might add, they have the fastest shipping of any company I’ve dealt with).

 

Leave a Reply

