Organic Superfine Dragon Well Long Jing Green Tea: Tea Vivre

Superfine dragonwell tea

Organic Superfine Dragon Well Long Jing Green Tea by Tea Vivre

Ooooooooohhhhh this smells niiiiiiiiiice!!!!! Really fresh. Really intense. Take a whole pile of Arrowroot cookies and blend them together with a whole pile of chestnuts and intensify the smell ten times. Throw in a handful of hay and a handful of fresh cut green grass. I think it smells like that! It fills up your whole nose. That doesn’t even make sense. But it kind of does. Smells delicious! I have my nose stuck in the bag, inhaling deeply as I move to shut the windows. I really don’t want to smoke that disgusting cigarette with you, thanks very much, neighbour! I’d rather smell this tea!

And just look at those pretty leaves! Bright green. Pressed flat. Hard and glossy. On some, you can see the little hairs (pekoe) and little bumps and bubbles. Dragon scales?

I can’t wait to brew it! Tea Vivre recommends 80 degrees for 20 seconds, then 40 sec., 70 sec., etc. Let’s go!!!

I have to wait.

Water.

My tap water is a revolting brownish-yellow and tastes like rust. My single Brita pitcher does a good job of filtering, but it’s sloooooowwwwwwwww. I never have enough to fill the tea kettle. I used to have a tap-mounted filter, but in this apartment, the faucet won’t hold it. I make do with the slow, slow, slow Brita pitcher. Toronto’s tap water IS clean and safe for drinking, but after a trip through ancient apartment building pipes, it picks up a lot of gunk. Never take clean water for granted!

OK… here we go! Water is filtered, boiled, cooled, poured… 20 seconds later…   mmmmmm… sweet! Wow! This has so many layers of flavour! There’s a quick first flash of grass, but then an immediate burst of intense, sweet perfume, and then the mellow nutty chestnut that sits on your tongue long after you swallow. There’s a touch of hay in there too. Sweet grass. I love how you can actually feel the taste change in your mouth. That’s a new sensation for me! I can’t get enough of the sweet perfume-y stage!!

I’m loving this tea! A new favourite for sure! Soooooo good!!!!

BIG HUGE THANKS

to Tea Vivre for providing another outstanding tea! They just get better and better!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

