Nonpareil Taiwan Li Shan Oolong Tea: Tea Vivre

Nonpareil Taiwan Li Shan Oolong

Nonpareil Taiwan Li Shan Oolong Tea by Tea Vivre

“Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.”


― Earl Nightingale

Here’s a quote that I just can’t get out of my head. Three years ago, I started an MA program… distance, and online. Three years seemed impossibly long. Three years was a commitment that I wasn’t sure I wanted to make. I knew I wanted and needed that particular MA program… but THREE YEARS!!! If I started in 2011, I wouldn’t finish until 2014, and I would be 3 years more advanced into middle age… yeah… I was afraid to start.

Now that I’m nearing the end, the three-year journey seems both ‘neverending’ and ‘gone in a flash’. It’s really amazing. The time does pass anyway, and when it’s gone, you can’t believe how fast it went! Where did it go? Did I blink? Did I dream it? Where would I be if I hadn’t taken that step? Time passes… tea slows it down for a moment. Great tea almost makes it stand still.

This Nonpareil Taiwan Li Shan Oolong from Tea Vivre looks like tiny, pretty green pebbles… hard and glossy, and smaller than green peas. They smell sweet and fresh, and ‘wheat-y’. It’s a nice, comforting smell… like childhood breakfast cereal.

I’m using a gaiwan, so I’ll start with a steep of about 30 seconds. The ‘Nonpareil’ in the name means that this is a top grade oolong. The ‘Li Shan’ means that the tea is grown on a high, cold mountain. It’s one of the top quality teas in my cupboard! I don’t want to wreck it!

The liquor is a clear, light yellow, and the unfurled leaves are huge! I can’t believe those little tiny pebbles contain so much leaf!

unfurled leaves

Nonpareil Taiwan Li Shan Oolong unfurled leaves

Wow! That is nice! It is light, fresh, slightly sweet, and perfume-y. Rose is rose and Jasmine is jasmine, but I can’t identify this flowery aroma. Maybe lilies or narcissus… something white and feathery and graceful. I’m not accustomed to eating flowers, so I don’t know what this is… but it’s really complex and exciting! There’s also a touch of grass, a touch of hay, a touch of butter, and a touch of honey. I really taste the full perfume in the middle of my mouth, and I’m left with a wonderful sweet, fresh aftertaste. I always wonder why you would drink coffee, if you could drink perfumed feathers instead?

The second infusion is less sweet and more vegetal, but the intoxicating perfume lingers in the mouth long after. This tea should be good for at least 8 infusions, so I’ll keep going. It’s fantastic!

Now that I’ve got time slowed down to a crawl, it’s time to get back to work. So much to do. Just make a start. It’ll be done in a flash!

Special Thanks to Tea Vivre for providing this sample! They also provide tons of information about each tea… where it comes from, how and when it’s harvested, and why it’s really special! Check it out!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

