Premium Tai Ping Hou Kui: Tea Vivre

So, I’m plowing through my ultra-boring reading for my MA, trying to finish with some of the stack of library books so I can return them. They seem to want them back. I dunno why.

And I’m typing my notes as I go. I hate typing. Makes my elbows ache. And I suck at it. I’m slow… and I make more mistakes than I can count, and have to type, re-type, re-type some words 4 or 5 times before they come out right. I hate typing.

Tai Ping Hou Kui by Tea Vivre

Premium Tai Ping Hou Kui by Tea Vivre

Tai Ping. Tai Ping Hou Kui. Look at this crazy tea!! It’s the funniest tea I’ve ever seen! I love the long longness of the leaves! And the bright green greenness! Amazing! These long green blades are longer than my fingers! And if you look closely, you can see the hatchmarks imprinted from the pressing process. I just want to take pictures of this fascinating tea all day. I don’t even care about drinking it! I’m hoping that the power of Tai Ping will seep into my fingers and make them better at typing! heeheehee.

Tai Ping Hou Kui on fingers

Tea Fingers

OK.. the smell is of fresh green grass, hay, and something sweet, like… butter. Yup! Shortbread cookies! Smells sooooo yummy!! I’m instructed to brew it at 80 degrees for 1-5 minutes. I learn from the website that I should admire it in a tall clear glass. No problem! Let’s see what happens!

Cool… what happens is that after a few minutes, the leaves start to descend into the depths and it really looks like spikes of seaweed hanging in the water. It is mesmerizing to watch the leaves slowly fall and twist. I wish there were some little tiny red goldfish in there! It would be like a little miniature ocean in my teapot! So pretty!

floating Tai Ping Hou Kui

Floating Tai Ping Hou Kui

The taste; intensely green and vegetal, with a mildly sweet finish and a little bit of astringency. It reminds me of Matcha. The second infusion is a little milder on the vegetal, and the hay taste comes out. Very pleasant! It makes my mind calm and focused. Perfect!

For more information and history of this ‘top ten Chinese tea’, visit Tea Vivre. Cool video on the baking/pressing process too!

Now… back to my reading… and typing. ugh!

Super Thanks to Tea Vivre and Angel Chen for providing the sample!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Premium Tai Ping Hou Kui: Tea Vivre

  1. Good luck with the typing! I know how you feel 🙂
    But this tea… I’ve never seen anything like it. It sounds really delicious – butter – mmmm.
    I’ll have to try it. Thanks for the review!

    Like

    • If you want a buttery tea, I really recommend the Milk Oolong from Tao tea Leaf. That’s the most buttery tea I’ve had. This Tai Ping Hou Kui has a more subtle buttery flavour, but it’s there. I really loved it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

