Black Currant: Tea 4 U

Black Currant tea

Black Currant by Tea 4 U

Too many days of fog and cloud and rain. Too many days of cold. Too many days of darkness. It’s the dark that gets to me. The crushing weight of it… the numbing of thought and feeling…

I can’t get enough light in here. Every light is on. The dark is winning.

“Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it.”

― Terry PratchettReaper Man

I love the wisdom of Terry Pratchett. He gets it. All of it.

Craving light and warmth and summer, I’m hoping this Black Currant tea from Tea 4 U (Anverally Tea) will bring it!

I pretend that it’s hot. I imagine a sparkling blue swimming pool and the hum of cicadas. I paint everything with a blue sky. I brew iced-tea.

It’s a beautiful rich golden brown and it smells like berries. It’s a mildly sweet black Ceylon tea with a gentle currant after-taste… not strong, not tart…  Mild and sweet, but definitely currant!

It’s the colour that saves me from the dark. The sparkling copper, and the taste of deep, royal purple remind me what light looks like.

The clouds are clearing. I see blue sky. I hear birds singing. Drift away, Blackness… the Light is coming!

 

OMG! In the time it took to write this, the sky has turned blue! First time in days! This tea is AMAZING!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

