Sweet Rose Petal: Tsaa Tea Shop

rose petal tea

Sweet Rose Petal by Tsaa Tea Shop

Good morning! Wake up and smell the roses! See the world through rose coloured glasses! A rose by any other name would smell as sweet! Is there any scent as heavenly as rose? Jasmine is nice. Lily-of-the-valley is nice. But rose is surely the queen of all flowers. Roses and mornings are linked in my mind. When I was a kid, it was a treat to sleep over at Grandma’s house. In the mornings we would rush into her bedroom and crawl into bed with her, giggling. We played “I spy”. “I spy with my little eye, something that is purple…” It was the roses… we thought they were purple… outside her bedroom window, on the side of the house. They were beautiful. When I think of roses, I think of those roses… in the morning… with Grandma.

Today I’m brewing “Sweet Rose Petal” tea (tisane) by Tsaa Tea Shop, and I sip it from one of Grandma’s pretty rose teacups. I like how it’s pink on the inside. The tea smells of roses… nothing more, nothing less. It’s a little surprising, though. I expected these pretty pink petals to steep into a pinkish tea, but it is a surprising bluish green. I can’t explain it.

sweet The taste is sweet and perfumed. It tastes fresh and flowery, exactly as you would expect roses to taste. The smell matches the taste. It’s heavenly. I could just float away on this aroma! It leaves an elegant, luxurious, rose taste in my mouth. I think every morning should start with drinking roses. I feel like royalty. What better way to face the day?

 

“What a lovely thing a rose is!… Our highest assurance of Providence seems to me to rest in the flowers. All other things, our powers, our desires, our food are all really necessary for our existence in the first instance. But this rose is an extra. Its smell and color are an embellishment of life, not a condition of it. It is only goodness which gives extras, and so I say again that we have much to hope from the flowers.” 
― Arthur Conan DoyleThe Naval Treaty

 

Leave a Reply

