Organic Blueberry Rooibos: Tao Tea Leaf

Blueberry Rooibos

Organic Blueberry Rooibos by Tao Tea Leaf

Once upon a time, I followed a recipe from a magazine, and baked a ‘delicious and easy blueberry loaf/cake’. It was a disaster. The outside burned, and the inside stayed raw. When I tried to get it out of the pan, I had to chisel the edges out with a knife, while the gooey inside spilled its guts all over the plate. It was a lumpy purple mess of burnt bits and raw batter, filled with gorgeous fresh blueberries that I hated to waste. It only confirmed the fact that I should stay out of the kitchen, and leave the baking to grandmas and church bazaars… the real professionals!

But ooooohhhhhh my goodness…. did it ever smell GOOD!!!!! My whole house smelled like a “Martha Stewart Blueberry Bread Factory” (yeah, I’m sure there is one somewhere). Sweet blue juicy blueberries, vanilla, butter… mmmmmm… I think I’m going to go buy some blueberry muffins as soon as I finish this post. Well, this Rooibos smells like that. In fact, this one has been in isolation in the cupboard for a few months; separated from all the other teas because I was afraid the smell would flavour everything else. The package smells of blueberry,  the tin I put the package in smells of blueberry, my hands smell of blueberry after touching it, and now, my entire house smells of blueberry. Delicious!

It isn’t until I steep it that I smell the rosehip/ hibiscus aroma. Oh no… I’m never a fan of rosehip/hibiscus flavours. I find them tart and jarring, and they overwhelm every other flavour. I’m scared.

The first sip is definitely blueberry. Sweet and blue and natural. I would be happy if it were only that. But then the hibiscus flavour kicks in. It almost threatens to overpower the blueberry, but not quite. It isn’t as horrible as some hibiscus flavoured teas, but I just don’t see why it’s necessary at all. Why can’t I just enjoy the mellow, sweet blueberry itself?   I can taste the woody rooibos in the background, and the aftertaste is a yummy blueberry, but in between, there is the annoying hibiscus that I could do without.

If you like fruity tisanes, and don’t mind the tartness of hibiscus, this is a nice, sweet cup with a mellow blueberry aftertaste. For me, I don’t like hot hibiscus, and will be drinking the rest of this in a cold pitcher in the fridge. It might make a nice iced tea, or a cocktail, but I doubt that I’ll be making it ‘hot’ again.

This tisane comes from Tao Tea Leaf.

Leave a Reply

