Afternoon Tea: Crabtree & Evelyn

Afternoon Tea by Crabtree & Evelyn

Afternoon Tea by Crabtree & Evelyn

It’s a quiet Sunday afternoon and I’m curled up on the sofa with my fuzzy slippers, my delightfully fluffy “historical” novel, and my…wait a minute… something’s missing…. oh yeah!!!   my TEA!!!

Today I’m not feeling very adventurous. Don’t want fruity, sweet, coconut concoctions. I just want a cuppa normal, down-to-earth tea. The old-fashioned kind. This “Afternoon Tea” from Crabtree & Evelyn looks just about right. Another gem tucked away in Mom’s pantry, this is a fresh-smelling “light blend of fine tea from Kenya and Ceylon”, as the package claims.

Steeped, it is a gorgeous ruby red and smells strong! It IS strong! But underneath the tannins, I taste the sunny perfume of rose and blackberries. It’s an old-fashioned garden party kind of tea that deserves to be served in tiny elegant china teacups…with a saucer, of course! This huge glass mug is oh, so wrong!

I’ll get it right next time!

Now, back to my old-fashioned book, with my old-fashioned tea, in a quiet house, drifting through swirling snow…a perfect Sunday afternoon!

This tea is from Crabtree & Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

